PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions on What to Do

BigBoy99
02-24-2010, 12:34 PM
I've been collecting German Class III weapons for almost 50 years and have some nice items. I have tried to collect as many of the accessories for each of them, such as magazine pouches, magazine loaders, loading tools, take-down tools, repair and cleaning tools, slings, belts, ammo cans, etc., etc.

Now that I'm getting to the point where I'm starting to have physical problems, I'm wonder what is the best way to go - to sell the weapon and all the accessories as a group or to split them up and sell them individually. Would appreciate any ideas or opinions of the topic. Thanks.

Bill

Otis61
02-24-2010, 01:35 PM
If it were me I would first meticulously catalog everything. And I mean everything. With all the current prices. You may have already done this. Then as far as how to sell it it depends on how fast you need the money. If not a rush just do package deals. If you need the money now, split it up. I would think many obscure items would not sell well if they were by themselves.

wonderwolf
02-26-2010, 12:36 PM
+1 on the cataloging absolutely everything. Then keeping a spare copy of that catalog somewhere very safe. Something I've seen time and time again is somebody getting on in their years decides to start to sell some stuff. Lets some people over to buy some stuff and word starts to really get out and they get broken into and everything is stolen or somebody gets hurt or both. I've been put in charge of selling of a very large collection for a widow and the first thing I did was catalog absolutely everything that was there and start putting prices on things.