PDA

View Full Version : new to the cetme

spudwrench777
11-19-2011, 12:06 PM
thanks for allowing me into this great forum. i'm new to the battlrifle game. i have always wanted one, anyone chambered in .308 only. i fell in love with this cetme when i saw it on display at a friends pawn shop. should have done my homework. it had zero gap and had been shoot a considerable amount. the locking piece is hitting the back side of the bolt firing pin hole. one roller measures 2 thou undersize the other a half thou under. deep divits on the locking piece ramp. the tube end on the bolt carrier is nice and peened. the bolt itself measures 1.839" oal. guess this things been pretty shot out. i've built many 1911's and pump guns, but this is my first attempt at a battle rifle. i've ordered a milsurp bolt assembly, locking piece and standard rollers from apex. any suggestions out there for a newby? oh yea, its a century with the old cast stainless receiver. thanks guys.

gtty
11-19-2011, 01:04 PM
Welcome to the forum!! I have built two CETMEs and love the rifle also. The good news is your rifle can be brought to spec by reading here. There are lots of really helpful folks here. Holescreek I would have to say is the ultimate expert. Read some of his (and others) stickies and you too can be an expert.

My first build shoots great, but my second build has lost its bolt gap so I'll have to re-press the barrel. (not quite sure where I went wrong there).

Once again, Welcome

holescreek
11-19-2011, 05:39 PM
I'm more like a beginner to intermediate cetme builder but I like to measure stuff. You are on the right track in replacing the carrier, rollers and locking piece. Your bolt head sounds long by cetme standards but the extra .005" could be your measuring instrument. Replace the parts, recheck the gap and see where it's at. I have no experience with the cast receivers or their issues, hopefully you get your gap back where it belongs and it won't matter.

spudwrench777