View Full Version : Copy cat aimpoints
cfish
07-10-2008, 03:41 PM
Does anyone here have any experience with those copy cat Aimpoints that look like the comp m2/ m3? I am building an AR for my son and can't justify the real thing right now. I see them on gunbroker all the time and they say they are just as good as the real thing. I figure if they are half as good for 80 bucks then it might be worth it. Let me know if any of you guys have any dealings with these and where to look for one besides GB.
Thanks
Fish
WildBillCody
07-10-2008, 03:46 PM
I have one that I got for $80, it is real nice IMO, works fine, I had it on my mini-30. They look and function just like the real ones. I even made a fake Aimpoint sticker for the side of it, I had a guy offer me $300 for it at a gun show, I couldn't sell it to him, I wouldn't have been able to sleep.
cfish
07-10-2008, 03:53 PM
WildBill where did you get it? It looks just like it. Have you put many rounds through it yet?
Woodman in MO
07-10-2008, 04:02 PM
Check out this link over at ar15.com They have a couple of posts dedicated to Clones.
http://www.ar15.com/forums/forum.html?b=3&f=18
Also they have a equipment exchange forum for budget clones. You can usually pick up a clone and mount for under $100
WildBillCody
07-10-2008, 04:02 PM
It was an auction, I don't remember where though, sorry... I had about 60 rounds through it before I took it off.
amd65
07-10-2008, 04:17 PM
I bought one two years ago, and it still works fine. Mine already said "aimpoint" on it.
It even stood up to 100 rounds on the CETME, which is tough on cheap scopes.
ackspac
07-10-2008, 06:50 PM
E-bay banned the selling of them last year. I bought a laser/mount from a guy who sold the Aimpoint clones pretty cheap on E-bay. I went back to his store (on E-bay) to buy the Aimpoint clone and mount and they were gone. He told me he could no longer legally import them back into the US.
WildBillCody
07-10-2008, 07:22 PM
WHAT Ebay banned something.... Unheard of.
okie shooter
07-10-2008, 07:31 PM
Well, went to ebay, the seem to still be there.
cfish
07-10-2008, 08:02 PM
Ya there is someone on GB that is selling them for around 80.00. TNTactical is the name of the company.
weasel_master
07-10-2008, 08:27 PM
It was an auction, I don't remember where though, sorry... I had about 60 rounds through it before I took it off.
Why did you take it off?
GearShanty
07-11-2008, 05:08 PM
I found one on ebay with a cantilever-type mount.
When/if it shows up from China, I'll let ya'll know how it looks and does.
WildBillCody
07-11-2008, 06:06 PM
Why did you take it off?
I was selling the rifle with itand the scout rail on, but no one wanted to pay me the extra money I had in it with the scout mount and red dot, so I took them off to sell seperate.
ackspac
07-12-2008, 09:27 AM
Well, went to ebay, the seem to still be there.
Yep, they are back. But they dont have the Aimpoint logo on them now.
GearShanty
07-12-2008, 02:24 PM
Yep, they are back. But they dont have the Aimpoint logo on them now.
When you look at the big photos, it looks like they put tape over the logo or photoshopped the logo out.
ackspac
07-12-2008, 02:39 PM
When you look at the big photos, it looks like they put tape over the logo or photoshopped the logo out.
Hmm, I see that now.
I've got one on my M14. It holds zero pretty well. I'm guessing it's something like a 3-MOA dot. It was pretty easy to co-witness with my irons. I think I paid like $65 from some guy on ARFCOM.
I like mine a lot. I'd love to have the real thing but... yeah I can't justify it at this time
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b289/miture/DSC_0012.jpg
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b289/miture/DSC_0024.jpg
eldogg
07-13-2008, 07:45 AM
anyone ever dealt with this site?
http://ebaybanned.com/index.php?cPath=32
they sell alot of clone stuff.
Patria Povo
07-13-2008, 10:40 AM
anyone ever dealt with this site?
http://ebaybanned.com/index.php?cPath=32
they sell alot of clone stuff.
I like the look of that 2x42 Aimpoint clone.
GearShanty
07-28-2008, 10:48 PM
I found one on ebay, with a cantilever-type mount.
When/if it shows up from China, I'll let ya'll know how it looks and does.
It showed up today. It looks good, but the mount won't hold zero. I have the knob tight, but if you tap the mount, the dot moves about 8MOA.
I took it off and moved it, flipped the locking piece around, tightened the screws on it, but nothing helped. I will tinker more and give another update.
rifleman
07-29-2008, 09:05 PM
guys check out http://blackgunstuff.com/reddot.html
Snowman
07-29-2008, 10:00 PM
I had one and it sucked. You get what you pay for IMHO
rifleman
07-29-2008, 10:05 PM
are you talking about the blackgun stuff ones. if so what sucked about it if you dont mind, just want to know. did it break. say no
Snowman
07-29-2008, 10:16 PM
are you talking about the blackgun stuff ones. if so what sucked about it if you dont mind, just want to know. did it break. say no
no it did not break it was just impossible to zero it. after 100 rounds I gave up and got the real thing. took 30 rounds to zero have never looked back since then. I may have got one that was built on monday :rolleyes:
rifleman
07-29-2008, 10:17 PM
hope you are right. :icon_biggrin:
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.