Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: G3 plastic furniture on a CETME....

Veteran

G3 plastic furniture on a CETME....

Hey gang. I'm a cetme noob, so bear with me. I have a cetme with wood stock and forearm. I purchased a G3 black plastic surplus set of furniture from RTG. Questions:

1) Does fitting the new forearm only require the addition of a pin from RTG? The original wood forearm uses a long skinny screw, which doesn't work with the plastic one...

2). The forearm I have is the skinny type. It has some strange little 'faux' vents on it. Has anyone dremeled these open to help cool the barrel better? The plastic seems really thin...shouldn't be hard to open them up. I have heard that these thin forearms can get hot...

3). Has anyone tried to add some stipling to the G3 pistol grip? It's kinda slick...

4) Can I remove all the parts from the buttstock and use them with the plastic G3 stock or do I need more parts? Where would I learn how to swap the parts that attach to the stock to the new one?

Ok...ithat's prolly enough questions.

Senior Veteran Evilblackgunsrfun's Avatar
    yes,you need one of the small pins to fit slim forearm
    well, after acouple dozen rounds your hand may get really hot because you opened up the holes, the REAL G3 forearm has a heatshield inside it,if you dremel holes in it your hand will get hotter then not opening holes up.
    as for the grip,the new POF grip i got from robert had a grainy type finish to it.
    the cetme stock looks like a G3 stock,but the Cetme has a bigger buffer in it, you would have to make the buffer hole larger in the G3 stock.
    you could just get the complete backplate/recoil assembly for a G3 from robert and a G3 buffer ,the 2 small buffer/stock screws and the buttstock screw and washers
    best thing about getting the G3 backplate/recoil assembly and buffer, after you can put any Hk G3,HK91 black,od green,tropical green,or G3 wood on it that you want.