Thread: Is CETME brass reloadable?

Is CETME brass reloadable?

As the title asks, is bass fired from a CETME reloadable? Mine creates some pretty deep spiral gooves in the brass. Just wondering if it is cosmetic or if the brass is no longer good.

I've reloaded mine before (PMC)with no problems.
    I love you guys...

Veteran
    im far from an expert but have been told comercial brass is a no no in one. Eventually you will experience a case head seperation. Just today though out in the barn i loaded an fired the same 5 cases 4 times and they were comercial remington brass. The load wasnt extreamly hot. A 147 ball bullet at about 2550 fps but looking at the brass i sure wouldnt be afraid to load it again. Chamber seemed a little big though as it took a good case lube and quite a bit of pressure on the 550 to size it. I wouldnt try it with spray case lube.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tread_Head View Post
    As the title asks, is bass fired from a CETME reloadable? Mine creates some pretty deep spiral gooves in the brass. Just wondering if it is cosmetic or if the brass is no longer good.

Quote Originally Posted by Tread_Head View Post
    The grooves aren't what keep folks from reloading. The cetme dents the hell outta brass, and folks don't want to expand their brass back out...
    Wave goodbye to virii and malware, Linux for human beings. http://www.ubuntu.com
    UNofficial MilitaryFirearm.com Chat

If your getting grooves in the brass( not just carbon, but the brass is splined, to match the flutes)
    Theres too much pressure, or the brass is thin/weak