Thread: Quick question regarding barrel pressing

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Veteran

Quick question regarding barrel pressing

Good morning to all!! I'm slowly moving towards starting my first CETME C build, and as a rank beginner I have what may seem to be a dumb question (the first of many, probably!! ). As I start pressing the barrel into the trunnion, if, God forbid, I find that I've pressed it in too deep, do I a) keep pressing it the same direction, right on through the trunnion, or b) press it back out the direction that it came from? Thanks for your expertise!!

Getting it right the first time is ideal, maximum interference between the barrel and trunnion. If you miss the target you'll want to press it through and try again. Typically you only get one second chance before the barrel diameter is so reduced that it moves too freely in the trunnion. At that point you can knurl the barrel to raise the diameter and try one more time but it will never be as tight as the first time.

You can stop and measure as many times as you want while pressing the first time. Don't rush it and don't panic and start over if you miss your "ideal" number as long as your gap is in tolerance. A tight press at .006" is better than a loose barrel at .020". You can always grow the gap with larger rollers later. Check your roller sizes before hand too, I've had mismatched diameters in demilled kits before.
    Last edited by holescreek; 05-15-2018 at 01:38 PM.

Veteran
    Roger...copy THAT!! I intend to be UBER careful, but knowing that Mr. Murphy can show up at any time, I figured that I better know what to do in worst case scenario ahead of time. As always, I thank you for your knowledge and advice!

New Recruit